The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Recording Points of Privilege by Guests in Minutes

Student Gov

I've been lurking for a little while but this is my first question, so my apologies if I'm not doing it right. I am a member of a student association that is usually quiet but has seen some controversy recently. At a Board meeting earlier this year, several members of the association who were not members of the Board were present. (For convenience, I'll refer to them as guests, although that's part of the dispute.)

Our policies state that "All members may attend any meeting. Non-members of the Board may address Board meetings if they have requested to be put on the agenda." One of the guests - guest A - asked permission in advance to address the Board, and at the appropriate point on the agenda, began to make a statement. Another guest - guest B - interrupted A, claiming a point of personal privilege. A Board member then made a point of order that B's point of privilege was out of order. However, the interruption was recorded by the Secretary. At the next meeting, the Board removed the interruption while correcting the draft minutes, noting that B was a guest, had not been extended speaking rights, and their point of privilege was out of order, besides. When B saw the minutes, they made several arguments that the record of their point of privilege should be retained:

1. That they are not a guest, but a full member of the association.

2. That there is a difference between addressing the Board and raising a point of personal privilege.

3. That according to RONR, minutes should include “all points of order and appeals, whether sustained or lost, together with the reasons given by the chair for his or her ruling.” (47.9)