The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Re-hashing Appointees

HungryJack619

Hi, I'm currently a University student and I had some questions as to how a procedure would operate for something that's going to happen in our upcoming student legislature meeting.

At our previous meeting we were handling approval for the President's annual cabinet nominations (our election cycle just ended a few weeks ago so the new President-Elect needs to hire his cabinet). Most of the cabinet were accepted and ratified by the legislature, as required by our Bylaws, but two individuals were not approved. For our upcoming meeting the President obviously had to select two new individuals to fill those positions. The issue is that he chose the same individual as his appointment and (assuming the information that I'm hearing is correct) will be bringing her before the legislature for approval a second time.

So, the obvious question. Can he do that? Fundamentally I'm sure the approval won't pass, but last time it was a 19-20 vote with one abstaining, so there's always the chance that he played politics in the week since our last meeting. Each appointment ratification is it's own resolution, and from what I understand the language of the resolution will be identical to the previous one, so on top of re-hashing his appointment he's also be re-hashing a piece of legislation that was voted down..

And I know what you're thinking, the right thing to do would be to move to reconsider the previous resolution, but without that happening is it allowed? What's the rule citation on something like this, or has it ever come up before? Is it up to the chair to simply not entertain a motion to introduce that legislation? Is it simply our of order? Is it an absurd or dilatory motion?

Thanks for your help!