The Official RONR Q & A Forums

RONR and Governing Laws

Jay Rivera

First of all, I am sorry in advance if this question seems really stupid but I am new to RONR and I am still trying to figure it all out.

Is it stated anywhere in RONR that Federal/State Laws take precedence above RONR or taken into consideration when our Bylaws or Standing Rules have no mention?

I am currently on trial with my organization for the second time for the same offence with no new charges or evidence. I was acquitted in my first trial and the same executive member started both trials. Nowhere in our rules states that our judicial committee cannot hear this charge but I will like to use a 'double jeopardy' like defense stating that this is not allowed by federal laws. I have also considered using "Object to Consideration" but I am not sure if that is applicable in a trial situation. Any and all help is really appreciated.

9 hours ago, Jay Rivera said:

Is it stated anywhere in RONR that Federal/State Laws take precedence above RONR or taken into consideration when our Bylaws or Standing Rules have no mention?

Yes, see RONR 11th ed., p. 580.

And see pp. 3-4.

Edited by Hieu H. Huynh
Added citation

Mr. Rivera, state and federal procedural laws take precedence over RONR, but a question as to whether the double jeopardy provision of the U.S. Constitution or a state constitution applies to the disciplinary actions of a private, voluntary organisation is a legal question which is beyond the scope of this forum. 

12 hours ago, Jay Rivera said:

First of all, I am sorry in advance if this question seems really stupid but I am new to RONR and I am still trying to figure it all out.