The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Losing Candidate Wants New Election

Guest Matt Fuller

Hello,

I just found this group and this is my first post so please forgive me if I don't do it quite right.

I am an officer  of the American Belgian Hare Club.  Our breed club is one of many under the American Rabbit Breeders Association.  We are a National breed club which recently incorporated as a 501 (a) not for profit organization in IL.  As a breed club we believed that whatever wasn't contained in our C & BL was covered by ARBA.  ARBA does not permit youth to vote.  We as a breed club have never had our youth vote since forming the club in 1972. 

The election for Vice-President was held.  We had 157 adult members who received a ballot.  The ballots were returned with a vote of 87 to 20.  The losing candidate is now demanding that we declare the election null and void as he interprets our by-laws as including "all members" to mean the youth as well.  We have 8 youth members.  

If we in fact should have included the youth in the election, the 8 votes would not affect the outcome for the losing candidate.  Are we obligated to nullify and redo the election?  If so would it be permissible to simply send out 8 ballots to the youth members?  We are a small club with limited resources and are just a week away from our national gathering where we will hold a meeting and be able to address the by-laws to make it officially state only adults vote.  Ideally we would like to call the election as 8 votes would not change the outcome.

The candidate who ran for office also mentions that he believes since we did not include youth in other elections that any elections we have held since we incorporated (Dec 2016) were not valid and that we are likely not even officers of our own club.

Here is his complaint (it cites our by-laws in regards to elections):

Hi J******,