The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Starting to follow RONR

CarotZee

Preface: I'm a new secretary to an org that's been around a while and although our bylaws do state RONR as parlimentary authority, we are a small group and don't use it - except when there are arguments, then we seem to start looking to RONR for an answer. The last meeting we debated on how minutes were to be taken and debated for an hour on the topic. No one had RONR at the meeting to refer to so we created a subcommittee to determine how we were going to take minutes. And left the last minutes unapproved.

I'm new to being both a secretary and a secretary for this board - so I of course first bought both the in brief and then the full book and since the last meeting am digging into finding out exactly what should and should not be in minutes.

Problem is in trying to follow RONR for taking minutes when the meetings themselves don't exactly follow RONR. So I'm stuck between a rock and a hard place. I would like to START using RONR for the unapproved minutes and this last meeting's minutes - but since the meetings themselves didn't follow RONR (except the part we started debating on the level of details of minutes and then there were actual motions and voting etc.) the question at hand is: Can I really start following RONR for the unapproved minutes and the minutes for the meeting where we debated on how to take the minutes if those meetings didn't use RONR?

Of course, at at the NEXT meeting I can start by making sure the agenda is adopted, that actions are in the form of motions and we follow RONR for that - but the problem is I have 2 other minutes to deal with and not sure I can appropriately deal with those minutes.