The Official RONR Q & A Forums

2 sets of minuets for one meeting

Guest jean

i was wondering since im new to the secretary position in my organization i was told to have 2 sets of minutes. one that gets posted to the web site and sent out to the members and the other for the files. the one that gets posted does not have the money totals and some discutions the president and captain feel the public needs to know. i need to know if that is legal or not.

Back to top of the page up there ^

i was told to have 2 sets of minutes

You were told wrong.

The minutes are the official record of what was done (e.g. motions made) at a meeting. There is only one "set". It does not need to be distributed to the members though members have a right to see the minutes (at the secretary's convenience).

If your organization wants to publish/post additional (or less) information in its newsletter or on its website, it is free to do so. What your president and captain "feel" is irrelevant. And what's "legal" is best asked of an attorney.

i was wondering since im new to the secretary position in my organization i was told to have 2 sets of minutes. one that gets posted to the web site and sent out to the members and the other for the files. the one that gets posted does not have the money totals and some discutions the president and captain feel the public needs to know.

You're right to be suspicious. A secretary with two sets of minutes sounds an awful lot like a treasurer with two sets of books.