The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Minutes in Executive Session

Kathy1006

I am new to the Secretary position and am unclear how to proceed. A large part of our meeting went into executive session. I was given permission to take notes. We had three votes during the executive session. I have read that everything in exec. session must be kept secret, so what do I put in the minutes? Is everything that happened in exec. session excluded from the minutes?

thank you

I am new to the Secretary position and am unclear how to proceed. A large part of our meeting went into executive session. I was given permission to take notes. We had three votes during the executive session. I have read that everything in exec. session must be kept secret, so what do I put in the minutes? Is everything that happened in exec. session excluded from the minutes?

thank you

You should prepare minutes as you would for a portion of a public meeting. The minutes of an executive session are subject to the same secrecy rules as an executive session, so they can only be approved or corrected in executive session. When you hold another executive session, if there is no business other than approval of the executive session minutes, then the minutes of that tiny executive session are assumed approved. It is advisable, though not necessary, for the executive session minutes to be a separate document, with the "public" minutes simply mentioning that the assembly went into executive session at that point.

No.

But just to be sure of what you, in your newbieness, are doing, take a look at RONR pp. 468 ff. You don't report "everything that happened", whether in executive or open session, just what "was done, not what was said" - p. 468. And a few other special items, listed on p. 469 ff.

Just keep the executive session portion of the minutes private - p. 96.