The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Vote called; then quorum is broken; may vote proceed?

Guest Chris Wold

I am a law professor doing research concerning the International Whaling Commission (IWC), a body that is known to be quite dysfunctional. A routine aspect of IWC meetings is for a group of countries to walk out of a meeting to break quorum. My question is this: if the chair has already put a question to a vote, can members break quorum by walking out of the room?

My question appears to run up against two rules of procedure, at least as described in Robert's Rules of Order (the IWC's rules do not address the matter). The first rule is that quorum can be broken at any time and business can no longer be conducted. That suggests that the vote may not proceed. The second rule, however, provides that votes are not to be interrupted unless by a relevant point of order. Under this scenario, the members walking out of the room still count towards quorum, but they are, in effect, abstaining from the vote.

I have searched Robert's Rules for assistance but I can't seem to find anything directly on point. Any help that you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

thank you,

Chris Wold

--

Chris Wold

Professor of Law & Director

International Environmental Law Project

Lewis& Clark Law School

10015 SW Terwilliger Blvd.

Portland, OR 97219 USA

TEL +1-503-768-6734

FX +1-503-768-6671

E-mail: wold@lclark.edu

http://go.lclark.edu/IELP