The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Quorum and attendance requirements

hawk022499@hotmail.com

Hello all,

I am new to operating under RONR and am awaiting the arrival of my 11th Ed and Brief books. I have a question regarding the actions of our organization's elected President and cancelling monthly meetings as he sees fit, due to what he says is a lack of a quorum. Meetings are set by the new Executive Board every January (usually the last Sunday of the month) and every month the next meeting is motioned by the President, 2nd, and approved by the members.

In our by-laws under the meeting section, it is directed that RONR shall be the Parlimentary authority. It also states that a quorum shall consist of a majority of the existing Executive Board. It does not spell out any actions that can or can not take place due to having or a lack of a quorum.

The by-laws further state what is required to be a member "in good standing" and able to vote on issues and elections, attend 4 of the 12 last regular monthly meetings. It is also required that board members attend a minimum of 3/4 of the regular monthly meetings or be excused by a majority vote of the E-Board. A failure to comply with the minimum will result in automatic expulsion from the office held, and any officer expelled would not eligible to hold a board position for 1 year from the expulsion date.