The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Need help - what counts as votes - Pres. botched count.

fiddler

I apologize for this lengthy post in advance, but I am a noob at being President and don't know how to handle the situation I am about to describe.

First, a little background:

In Nov. a member of our Chamber sent out 30 renewal requests which included a self-addressed envelope with the wrong address on it.

The board was alerted to this error in mid-Jan. when a member emailed us saying his dues payment came back to him. I emailed everyone the correct address.

We meet the first Wed. of every month.

Prior to the Feb. meeting, the board - at the Nov., Dec., and Jan. meetings, as well as nearly daily by email between the Jan. and Feb. meeting, discussed getting a 501©(3) nonprofit status.

At the Feb. meeting, which included 3 people I had never seen in the 3 years I had been attending, the former president made the motion to NOT pursue the nonprofit status.

I counted the votes as raised hands and announced 6 in favor of NOT pursuing and 5 against NOT pursuing.

I forgot to count my vote. Everyone knew I was in favor because I am the one who has been trying to get the board to agree to seeking a nonprofit status.

When the vote was being cast, a husband and wife raised their hand. I told them they weren't members as we have no record of receiving dues from them since 2010 (later I discovered it was even longer ago than that). They shrugged at the statement and said they had sent in their dues but it was returned to them, but they forgot to bring it that day. Another member stood up and told me they had more of a right to vote than I did because they had been members longer than I had been. I didn't want to get into the logic (or lack thereof on that statement) so ignored it and counted their vote.

I should point out that everyone else at that meeting went out of their way to make sure they were paid so their vote would count.