The Official RONR Q & A Forums

No longer recognizing a speaker

Guest Curious Member

Guest original asker

Care to provide more details of what happened? Because this sounds like a trick question...

Unfortuently I don't have much more information than that. I'm involved with a couple groups and while I have more knowledge than most in regards to Robert's I am by no means an expert or a certified parlimintarian. This question was basically how it was presented to me.

The chair wanted to stop a member from speakingon something that he felt didn't need to be discussed during the meeting. Now I don't know when or where this was being discussed so that complicates things as to whether or not it was even germeane. I did state that he technically does have to recogize each member who wishes to speak and can't outright ignore him. I'm going to pressume it wasn't selective censorship on a matter, but rather a topic that belonged in a committee or otherwise was not pertitent for disucssion of the whole.

When is it acceptable, or is it, to stop recognizing a speaker during a meeting, who otherwise has the floor and whose time has not expired?

Recognition of a speaker, as I would use the term, is not an ongoing thing. The chair recognizes a member who wishes to speak (make a motion, or in debate on one), and by so doing gives the member exclusive right to be heard at that time. (p. 29 ll. 11-15). If the speaker has the floor and his time has not expired, with the exception of a few parliamentary steps which can interrupt him, his "recognition" continues until he stops or his time expires.

The chair could interrupt him, perhaps even calling him to order, if his remarks become not germane to the pending question, or if he violates decorum, but otherwise, I'm not sure what else to say.

The chair wanted to stop a member from speakingon something that he felt didn't need to be discussed during the meeting.