The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Reopen Nominations for vacancies after voice vote held?

Guest Steve Delegate

Guest Steve Delegate

I recently attended my Republican County Assembly as a delegate for my precinct and an issue came up that I would like to hear some experts opinion on. Since I am a layman regarding parliamentary proceedings please excuse any layman terms I may use unintentionally.

I arrived at the Assembly and there was a table with many clipboards on it that people could use to nominate themselves as delegates. There was a State District, House District, Judicial District, and Congressional District. I nominated myself for the State District delegate position by signing the State Delegate clipboard.

After sitting down and listening to several speeches the Co-Chairman took the podium and reminded people that he would soon close the nominations and to write in your name if you wished to do so. After a while longer he took the podium again and closed the nominations. After some time he then took to the podium again and stated that because the Congressional District Clipboard had 5 vacancies that there was no need to hold a ballot vote on those who signed up to be nominated and we took a voice vote to approve that a ballot vote would not be required and that the nominees would be elected because they were uncontested. The majority of the assembly agreed with a voice vote.

All of the remaining paper ballot voting was completed and the votes for all the Districts were sent to the Tellers to be counted which took several hours. During the course of this time some of the remaining delegates who were waiting for the results had a discussion about the unfilled vacancies in the Congressional District and a guy named John had mentioned that there was a way to reopen the nominations to fill those vacancies if someone still wanted to nominate themselves for the positions.