Jump to content
The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Do Abstains Go to the Victor?


Guest Jessica

Recommended Posts

A vote was taken to accept a new organization into the League. The vote was 6-for; 4-against and 2 abstains. The President indicated that abstains go to the victor. Is this true?

Abstentions are not votes, and as such generally do not count. There are a few exceptions where an abstention has the same effect as a "no" vote, but that doesn't seem to apply here from what you've offered so far.

The vote was 6 to 4, and the motion to accept the new organization passed, assuming only a majority vote was required. The 2 abstentions should be ignored. They do not now make the vote 8 to 4. What the President said has no basis in Robert's Rules or common parliamentary law.

See also FAQ #6 on this site.

Edited by David A Foulkes
Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...