The Official RONR Q & A Forums

non-member seated with members and motioning/presiding

Guest Dusty

I sit on two boards (newly appointed to both). Both boards have a curious and similar problem: both have non-members sitting with the members, not in the gallery, and these individuals "gab" during the meeting, cut-off members, one has twice directed the members to do an e-mail vote (these are public/government boards), both have effectively tried (successfully) to preside over the meeting.

Needless to say, both board chairs are derelict in their duties, and the members of both boards don't recognize, or care, or have the willingness to speak up.

I am new to both boards, and as such have been attempting to get a feel for things, including member preferences, knowledge, and intentions.

I am reluctant to call out the chairs and/or the non-members usurping authority without knowing there will be some support.

Here is the question:

What manner would one recommend to address the non-members. I wish them to stop interrupting/controlling the meetings, as well as to take their place in the gallery along with other non-members.

A working relationship with these non-members must be maintained. One is the executive counterpart to the board; the other board has "staff" that "invades" the board--anywhere from 3-8 staffers compared to an approximate 9 member board.

What manner would one recommend to address the non-members. I wish them to stop interrupting/controlling the meetings, as well as to take their place in the gallery along with other non-members.

It would be in order to raise a question of privilege of the assembly as a whole when disturbance occurs. You could also move to go into executive session (unless other rules or laws prohibit it), or you could offer a main motion to establish a rule that all nonmembers must be seated in the gallery.