The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Eligible to continue to hold office

Guest Drew

I am currently an EMS Officer in a volunteer fire company.  Our Annual Elections are held in December.  Now one section of the by-laws reads under qualification of officers "A member shall not be eligible to hold office as a fire line or ambulance officer if that member is a fire line or ambulance officer, or becomes a fire line officer or ambulance in another volunteer company.  In another volunteer fire company that I belong to, I was appointed Acting EMS Captain.  The current EMS Capt is in the military.  Did didn't resign, and the fire company of course can not remove the position from this person.  So since I was qualified, and so as to have someone responsible for billing, supplies, etc, I was made the acting EMS Capt, until the person returns from the military duty.  Now there are members stating that this is a violation of the by-laws.  My opinion on this is (1) I don't have the official title that it is temporary until the person returns from military duty, and (2) that section only applies for the eligibility to be nominated and elected to the position, and not dur during the course of the year.  I am looking for some feedback and opinion here what Rubert Rules (RONR) is on this.