The Official RONR Q & A Forums

How to start using Robert's Rules of Order

Guest Michelle G

Hi, I'm new to this world of Robert's Rules of Order for an organization I am involved with.  How is it you start using these rules?  More specifically, if in our by-laws, it is not stated that we run our meetings according to the Robert's Rules of Order, do we need to start off each meeting by stating that we will be conducting our business outlined by Robert's Rules of Order, or is it just assumed we will be?  We have a lot of new club members who are not familiar with these rules and some of the 'old timers' end up ruling the meetings because they pick and pull what they want from Robert's rules to get their way...  So I was just wondering if the rules are not stated in our by-laws that we will be running the meetings according to these rules, do the rules apply?

Thanks,

Michelle G

Hi, I'm new to this world of Robert's Rules of Order for an organization I am involved with.  How is it you start using these rules?  More specifically, if in our by-laws, it is not stated that we run our meetings according to the Robert's Rules of Order, do we need to start off each meeting by stating that we will be conducting our business outlined by Robert's Rules of Order, or is it just assumed we will be?  We have a lot of new club members who are not familiar with these rules and some of the 'old timers' end up ruling the meetings because they pick and pull what they want from Robert's rules to get their way...  So I was just wondering if the rules are not stated in our by-laws that we will be running the meetings according to these rules, do the rules apply?