The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Executive Committe Questions

Guest T. Wunder

Hello all,

I'm part of a very informal, small board of directors, and I'm fairly new to being a board director.  This board frequently does not follow the bylaws and seem to make things up as they go.  I've been the Chair for a standing committee for about 7 months when the previous chair quit, and our bylaws specifically state that all standing committee chairs are part of the executive committee.  I have not been invited to at least 3 meetings that I know of, but my biggest concern is that the executive committee is saying that what they discuss is private, and the board is not receiving any reports from them.  Our bylaws say:

The Executive Committee may act for the board of Directors when the Board
is not in session. The Executive Committee will be accountable to the Board for any action taken.

Even if I was not on the Executive Committee, can they keep everything confidential from the board?  Also, if I am on the Executive Committee (which I should be), where in Robert's Rules of Order does it state that any business conducted is null and void if I was not invited?

Thank you!

I have not been invited to at least 3 meetings that I know of, but my biggest concern is that the executive committee is saying that what they discuss is private, and the board is not receiving any reports from them.  Our bylaws say:

The Executive Committee may act for the board of Directors when the Board

is not in session. The Executive Committee will be accountable to the Board for any action taken.

Even if I was not on the Executive Committee, can they keep everything confidential from the board?