The Official RONR Q & A Forums

recording reasons for dissent in the minutes

siardem

I am new to this discussion forum, but the question I have involves a far reaching consequence. The U.S. system for protection of human subjects of research is overseen by a federal office ( the Office for Human Subjects Protection.) The procedural rules are state in 45 CFR 46 and a version of that regulation has been adopted by 16 federal agencies under the heading of the Common Rule)http://www.hhs.gov/ohrp/humansubjects/commonrule/index.html

The regulations specify a number of issues that must be documented in the meetings of the Institutional Review Board (IRB).

I was a member of the federal body that developed the regulations published by the Secretary of Health and Human Services and adopted formally by the agency heads.

I had accepted the view that member(s) who did not vote in favor of approval of an IRB motion were required to state the reasons) for disagreement. My personal experience,  in addition to overseeing the implementation of the regulations at thousands of institutions world wide, has involved decades of experience serving in various capacities as member of an IRB and chair of several.

In answer to a question from an administrator of an IRB, I searched carefully both the regulations and implementing guidelines . However, I was not able to identify any explicit requirement for inclusion ( without attribution) in the minutes a statement of a member/members of reasons for disagreement with the majority view.

I was not able to find a similar provision in Robert's.