The Official RONR Q & A Forums

RONR 11ed vs. Robert's Rules for Dummies

Guest RONR Newbie

I am relatively new to Robert's Rules of Order and wanted to find a book to read to help familiarize myself. I know the for Dummies version is pretty popular for people new to RONR.

Do you think it is necessary to get a copy of the official RONR 11ed or can I get by with the Robert's Rules of Order for Dummies. From what I have seen thus far, it seems like the overwhelming majority of the information is covered in the for Dummies version. Do you know what pieces of information are left out of the Dummies version that are in RONR 11ed?

Which one should I go with?

You should stick with RONR (11th Edition) or RONR In Brief (2nd Edition).  While Robert's Rules For Dummies may have similarities to RONR (I haven't read For Dummies so I have no clue how much similarity there actually is) it is just a matter of time until a situation comes up when what RONR says conflicts with what For Dummies says.  If the organization's bylaws name RONR as its parliamentary authority then RONR is going to prevail so why not use RONR so everyone is singing from the same song book?

If Robert's Rules of Order for Dummies is anything like the other "for Dummies" books, I'm sure it is a good book, but it is the difference between reading a book that tell you about the rules and reading the rules themselves. If all you're doing is going by what the "for Dummies" book says, you don't actually know what the rules say.

I am relatively new to Robert's Rules of Order and wanted to find a book to read to help familiarize myself. I know the for Dummies version is pretty popular for people new to RONR.