The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Proper Procedure?

Guest Bob

Administrative Board voted to table a motion for 60 days to further investigate the issue in question.  A new meeting has been scheduled 25 days from the meeting date where the motion was tabled (not 60) with the intention of voting on the original motion. Provided some committee members still require additional time, how should this issue be handled during the new meeting provided the meeting can't be rescheduled?  Please elaborate on significance of specific timelines voted on by committees, etc.  (I'm new to this)  Thanks.

Your Administrative Board is confusing the motion to Lay on the Table with the motion to Postpone to a Certain Time. Take a look at the answer to FAQ #12.

As to postponement:

"In a case where more than a quarterly time interval (see pp. 89–90) will elapse between meetings (for example, in an annual convention of delegates or in a local society that holds only an annual meeting), a question cannot be postponed beyond the end of the present session. In cases where no more than a quarterly time interval (see pp. 89–90) will elapse between sessions, a question can be postponed until, but not beyond, the next regular business session." (RONR, 11th ed., p. 183)

"When the time to which a question has been postponed arrives and the question is taken up, it can be postponed again if the additional delay will not interfere with the proper handling of the postponed motion."  (RONR, 11th ed., pp. 183-84) 

7 hours ago, Guest Bob said: