The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Guest Takobi

Does the very act of making a motion during an executive session cause the session to become open, and thus allow the motion to be recorded in the minutes?  Our chairman is of the opinion that any motion made during an executive session is to be recorded in the minutes. I am new at this, but thought that if the chairman wanted the motion to be recorded in the minutes, she would need to actually state that the executive session has ended prior to the motion being made.  Which is correct?  Thank you!      

Your chairman is correct that 'any motion made during an executive session is to be recorded in the minutes', but that has nothing whatsoever to do with whether a meeting is in executive session or not. Minutes are taken at all meetings, regardless of whether they are held in executive session or not. Note though, that the minutes of an executive session are kept separate from the minutes of open session, and should be approved only in an executive session.

Edited to add:  Of course only motions that would normally be recorded in open session minutes are included in executive session minutes. Not all motions are included in minutes.

...so to make sure I am straight, motions made in executive sessions stay in the executive session minutes, and any motion that she wants recorded in the open minutes need to have been after she actually states that we are back in open session, correct?  Thanks again!

Correct, except that leaving executive session isn't something that someone just "states." It requires an action of the body. It may, of course, be done by unanimous consent, but that is different than just "stating" it. If a majority of those present wish to remain in executive session, they have a right to do so.

7 hours ago, SaintCad said:

Greg, wouldn't it be at least half of the body wishing to stay in executive session be sufficient since it takes a majority to move out of executive session?