The Official RONR Q & A Forums

SGA Advisor

Hi! I'm brand new to ALLLLL of this, so thank you in advance for helping me however you can. 

the nutshell version: Is there a way to 1) see if an organization is using RR without even realizing it? Like maybe the student government established RR/Parliamentary Procedure as their standard many years ago, and the language got lost of the years. Are there certain markers I could look for to see this? and 2) if not, can I use RR/PP anyways when it comes to helping us make a major decision? Can it just be a catch-all standard? 

longer version: issues with voting and elections in student government at a university. They have bylaws and a constitution, but nothing that deals with this exact scenario. RR/PP has a solution, and it could seriously help us move forward, but I don't know if I *can* use RR/PP without 1) seeing if its an established precedence of the SGA or if 2) maybe they use it without even knowing. LOL, I don't even know if this makes sense! 

Thank you! 

Well, do the bylaws or other rules say anything about any parliamentary manual?  If they are using a different manual, and that manual is silent, then RONR can be cited as persuasive but not decisive.  If the manual covers the question, then you need to use it.

Assuming there's nothing about a parliamentary manual, the next question is whether you've developed a custom of relying RONR.  That's harder to see without being around for a while.  

Next, if there's no custom, you should be following common parliamentary law, which is often similar to RONR.  Finally, and as a consequence, in those cases you can cite RONR as persuasive, not decisive.  That is, you can say "here's a useful looking solution."

Or, you can use whatever process there is for amending your bylaws to adopt RONR as your parliamentary manual.  Alternatively, you can move to adopt it as a rule for the session.