The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Executive Session

Edward Sheridan

Hello! I’m brand new to parliamentary procedure, so I apologize in advance for any misconceptions I may have.

I have a question in regards to the grounds for the use of an executive session. The setting is a public school board meeting in Texas. The board has attracted the ire of many parents in its jurisdiction, and they have noticed that the board goes into executive session quite often when conducting day-to-day administration. The perception is that executive session is being used inappropriately. 

I have two questions:

1) What are established grounds for the use of exective session?

2) What means would the public have at its disposal to dispute the frequent use of exective session? 

Thank you in advance for your input. 

So far as RONR is concerned, an assembly may enter executive session whenever it decides it is appropriate, and non-members have no means at their disposal to dispute the decision. However, since you are talking about a public body, there are quite likely applicable state or local laws on the topic, which would supersede the rules in RONR. 

I agree with Mr Katz. If this is a public school board, it is almost certainly considered a public body and is likewise almost certainly covered by your state's open meetings laws (sunshine laws) or some other authority which has a higher ranking than RONR. Those laws usually include restrictions on when the body can go into executive session and they also often prohibit votes from being taken in executive session.

On 11/18/2018 at 12:42 PM, Edward Sheridan said:

Hello! I’m brand new to parliamentary procedure, so I apologize in advance for any misconceptions I may have.