The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Changing nomination DURING open nominations

Guest KimK

I apologize in advance as I am new to all of this.

I'm a member of a national organization that runs its meetings using Roberts Rules of Order.  We have Regional and Local Chapters.  Each local chapter has a teen chapter that mimics the local city chapter.  The teen chapter has its own officers and bylaws and has 2 adults from our local chapter that serve as advisors.

It is election time.  Our new teen officers must be elected and installed before the end of this month.  We had one teen nominated for President last month, 3 for VP, and so on.  Yesterday the teens needed to give speeches and vote.  Prior to that,  the Adult advisor opened the floor to additional nominations. She listed the name of the one candidate running for  One of the teens (who is not currently an officer OR running for office) nominated one of the candidates that was ALREADY nominated for VP.  This person accepted the nomination and (I was told but don't know this officially), declined the nomination from last month for VP.  She accepted, the group, crossed out the title VP next to her name on the ballot and wrote in President (she won).  Is this allowed?  I've seen that a nominee can run for 2 offices at once but nothing like this.  And if she declined her previous nomination for VP, was she supposed to give a reason?  

Our teen, local adult, regional or national chapter bylaws do not cover this.  When something isn't covered by national bylaws, we are to adhere to Roberts Rules of Order.  Advice would be awesome thank you.

12 minutes ago, Guest KimK said:

Is this allowed?  I've seen that a nominee can run for 2 offices at once but nothing like this.  And if she declined her previous nomination for VP, was she supposed to give a reason?