The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Overriding/re-voting/on a failed motion.

LostnIL

All,

I apologize if the topic doesn't clearly describe what I am trying to ask, bare with me, I am new to RONR. 

Recently, we held a board meeting and we only had 3 Trustees (Out of 6) so the Mayor was voting. We needed a minimum of 4 votes for a motion to pass. There was a motion regarding public safety and closing of a road that I voted against. It failed because it didn't get the needed 4 votes. -- What options does the Board have under parliamentary rules to try and revive the failed vote to close a main road for a business event? 

I understand there is a procedure to reconsider, but that typically needs done the same day/meeting. Can they bring the SAME vote back up when more Trustees are in attendance to try and change the outcome of the failed motion? 

Edited by LostnIL

29 minutes ago, LostnIL said:

All,

I apologize if the topic doesn't clearly describe what I am trying to ask, bare with me, I am new to RONR. 

Recently, we held a board meeting and we only had 3 Trustees (Out of 6) so the Mayor was voting. We needed a minimum of 4 votes for a motion to pass. There was a motion regarding public safety and closing of a road that I voted against. It failed because it didn't get the needed 4 votes. -- What options does the Board have under parliamentary rules to try and revive the failed vote to close a main road for a business event? 

I understand there is a procedure to reconsider, but that typically needs done the same day/meeting. Can they bring the SAME vote back up when more Trustees are in attendance to try and change the outcome of the failed motion? 

It each meeting is a different session, then it could be made again, renewed, at the next meeting,

3 hours ago, LostnIL said:

Recently, we held a board meeting and we only had 3 Trustees (Out of 6) so the Mayor was voting.