The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Calculation of two thirds vote

Guest Guest

17 minutes ago, Guest Guest said:

I am new to RONR and trying to learn all the nuances, but in calculating a two third vote- if you have a vote of 22 out of 34, two thirds amounts to 22.66. Will we need 23 votes to pass or 22 in this instance? 

Mr. Honemann, as usual, has very succinctly given you the correct answer.

A quick way to determine if you have met a two-thirds vote is to double the negative vote and compare the result to the affirmative vote. If the affirmative vote is at least twice as much as the negative vote, you have reached the two-thirds threshold. 

4 hours ago, Rob Elsman said:

Mr. Merritt accidentally stumbled in stating his quick tip.  If you double the negative vote and result is greater than or equal to the affirmative vote, the affirmative side has it.

Mr. Elsman seems to have stumbled while trying to correct @Weldon Merritt, whose post is correct, by the way.

If the affirmative vote is at least double the negative vote, then it is a 2/3 vote. As an equation:  Y >= 2 x N

In the OP's example, 22 Y and 12 N for a total of 34 votes. 22 is not at least 2x12 so it is not 2/3.

If the vote is 23 Y and 11 N, on the other hand, then 2/3 is obtained because 23 > 2 x 11.

And, to avoid another stumbling block, the threshold is at least 2/3, So if there were 36 votes and the breakdown was 24Y and 12N, then the 2/3 threshold is achieved, because 24 = 2 x 12. Sometimes people think it needs to be more than 2/3, confusing it with the definition of majority vote which is more than half.

Edited by Atul Kapur
Added note in bold italic

On 7/10/2020 at 10:46 AM, Guest Guest said:

I am new to RONR and trying to learn all the nuances, but in calculating a two third vote- if you have a vote of 22 out of 34, two thirds amounts to 22.66. Will we need 23 votes to pass or 22 in this instance? 

On 7/10/2020 at 11:04 AM, Daniel H. Honemann said: