The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Overturning a decision of the presiding officer

Guest Alex Drake

I am a college student who is engaged with student government. Recently, there has been a lot of confusion and argument over what decisions of the presiding officer are and are not allowed to be appealed. If the presiding officer decides to restrict certain members of the public from speaking, or to hear a certain piece of legislation on the floor rather than sending it first to committee, are those decisions that can be appealed, even though they are not connected to a specific point of order? If so, how?

7 hours ago, Guest Alex Drake said:

Recently, there has been a lot of confusion and argument over what decisions of the presiding officer are and are not allowed to be appealed.

It should first be noted that the presiding officer doesn't actually have the authority to make very many decisions. That is, the presiding officer cannot simply decide, in his own discretion, whether or not the assembly shall take particular actions.

What the presiding officer can do is to make rulings, which are based not on the whims of the presiding officer, but on the rules of the assembly. Pretty much any of these rulings can be appealed from. The only exceptions are:

1) If the chair is ruling on a Point of Order which is raised while an Appeal is currently pending.

2) If there cannot possibly be two reasonable opinions on the question.

7 hours ago, Guest Alex Drake said:

If the presiding officer decides to restrict certain members of the public from speaking, or to hear a certain piece of legislation on the floor rather than sending it first to committee, are those decisions that can be appealed, even though they are not connected to a specific point of order? If so, how?