The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Clarity requested on amending previously passed motion at next meeting

Guest Bob Smitherson

Guest Bob Smitherson

I am pretty new to this and after reading several things attempting to get clarity, I wanted to see if anyone could give me a definitive answer.

Our board at our last meeting voted on and passed a motion to amend our bylaws.  This in turn would now require that this amended version of the bylaws be sent to the general membership of the association the board represents for ratification.  This has not yet occurred, as the proposed bylaw change has yet to be submitted to the members to vote on.

Now, the person who made the initial motion with the proposed bylaw change at the previous meeting has submitted to the board that he intends to move to modify that approved motion and change the terms of the proposed bylaw change at the next board meeting.  He has not stated what the change will be or any specifics beyond that he intends to move to have it amended.  He has mentioned some of the reasons he intends to move to change it (conversations with people, etc) but no specifics on how he will propose it be changed.

My questions are, I believe this is completely acceptable, but would this future upcoming motion require majority or super-majority vote to change the already approved existing motion (proposed bylaw change) before it is sent to the members?  Is notifying the board of your intent to alter the motion in some way enough or must you detail the proposed change in order for it to be considered advanced notice?  Finally, are there any other plain issues with this I am missing?  Thank you in advance.

7 hours ago, Guest Bob Smitherson said: