The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Gender Equality

Guest Haidee Thomson

Guest Haidee Thomson

I am currently studying Robert's Rules and the dominance of male pronouns seems discriminatory for a book on parliamentary rules in a world where women are just as likely to take part as members or chairs as men are. The next edition should be updated to reflect the participation of all genders in deliberative assemblies.

I am currently studying Robert's Rules and the dominance of male pronouns seems discriminatory for a book on parliamentary rules in a world where women are just as likely to take part as members or chairs as men are. The next edition should be updated to reflect the participation of all genders in deliberative assemblies.

It's a matter of grammar, that when the gender is unknown or unimportant the masculine pronoun is used. The alternative is a society where it has been deemed necessary to specify every possibility when making a general statement.

I am currently studying Robert's Rules and the dominance of male pronouns seems discriminatory for a book on parliamentary rules in a world where women are just as likely to take part as members or chairs as men are.

The next edition should be updated to reflect the participation of all genders in deliberative assemblies.

No English text book in any class of mine ever advocated alternating the gender of pronouns.

Read Garner's Modern American Usage under the topic "he or she".

Garner illustrates some attempts at non-sexist which - plainly put - don't scan.

Nero Wolfe lamented the absence of ender-neutral pronouns in English, beginning in the 1940's. You have my sympathy, Guest_Haidee Thomson_, but I doubt we're going to get anywhere about it, on this forum or in the 11th edition of RONR.

Alas. Such is life.