The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Signing the Minutes

dudashamd

I understand that the Secretary and or President are to sign the minutes. Can someone clarify, is this the elected Secretary and/or President of the committee or is this the Secretary and/or President of your company? If it is the committee, what if there is no elected Secretary or President? Would it then be the Chairman? thank you for your help everyone...I am new to this order.

Can someone clarify, is this the elected Secretary and/or President of the committee or is this the Secretary and/or President of your company? If it is the committee, what if there is no elected Secretary or President? Would it then be the Chairman?

The person who submits the minutes for approval signs them. The person serving as secretary when they're approved initials them as approved.

The person who submits the minutes for approval signs them. The person serving as secretary when they're approved initials them as approved.

So it isn't necessarily the person typing the minutes who signs them? As an example. If the Chairman is submitting for approval at the meeting, the Chairman would be noted as signing the minutes. Correct?

As it pertains to the "secretary" initialling them as approved. Do you mean the Executive Assistant who is typing the minutes or the Secretary of the Committee? If there is no appointed Secretary of the Committee, would it also be the Chairman?

I apologize as I want to make sure we are using the same terms. I do appreciate your patience.

So it isn't necessarily the person typing the minutes who signs them? As an example. If the Chairman is submitting for approval at the meeting, the Chairman would be noted as signing the minutes. Correct?

As it pertains to the "secretary" initialling them as approved. Do you mean the Executive Assistant who is typing the minutes or the Secretary of the Committee? If there is no appointed Secretary of the Committee, would it also be the Chairman?