The Official RONR Q & A Forums

motion ruled out of order

Ratnott

When can a motion that has been seconde be ruled out of order by the chair??

Ratnott,

The Chair can right fully rule a motion OOO if it violates one of your bylaws, any portion of your constitution or charter (if you have one) a local, state, or federal law, or is outside the scope of your organization. I'm no parliamentarian, but I've had some experience with an out of control chair.

I've also found that some Chairs will rule motions OOO if it mimimizes their power or increases the memberships power. If the ladder is the case, your best option, at the time the motion is ruled OOO, state...I appeal the decision of the Chair, you'll need a second and some like minded members in the majority to overrule the Chairs decision. Good luck.

Ratnott,

The Chair can right fully rule a motion OOO if it violates one of your bylaws, any portion of your constitution or charter (if you have one) a local, state, or federal law, or is outside the scope of your organization. I'm no parliamentarian, but I've had some experience with an out of control chair.

I've also found that some Chairs will rule motions OOO if it mimimizes their power or increases the memberships power. If the ladder is the case, your best option, at the time the motion is ruled OOO, state...I appeal the decision of the Chair, you'll need a second and some like minded members in the majority to overrule the Chairs decision. Good luck.

Someone PLEASE come up with a better way to say OOO

For the sake of forum guests who use the search facility to locate questions and/or replies in which they have a special interest, I, too, wish we could avoid the use of uncommon or non-standard acronyms.

Indeed a good point. As long as they also know to search for Out of Odrer, Quoram, Resend, and a host of other variations on parlemintory preceedures!! blink.gif