The Official RONR Q & A Forums

approving revisions in minutes

Guest Joyce Gray

For a small group (12 and under), is it correct procedure to ask for a show of hands to approve a change in minutes or must there be a motion and 2nd.

This is assuming the revision has been read aloud to the group.

Neither.

If you follow the recommendation of RONR, you don't vote at all.

Neither.

Please forgive me but I'm new to all this. What is RONR exactly? I have a member of the group saying that there absolutely must be a motion and a 2nd. I told her that was true for BYLAWS perhaps but for an informal group of 12 women, that was not necessary. I need a logical way to rebut this so she will quit complaining.

Thanks in advance for your help.

What is RONR exactly?

RONR is the abbreviation for Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised and refers to the current, 10th, edition.

Mr. Goldsworthy may have confused "changing" (i.e. correcting or amending) the minutes with approving them. In the latter case, as he indicates, there should be no vote.

Corrections to the minutes prior to their approval are often achieved by unanimous consent but a motion, second, debate, and (majority) vote are not out of order. Amending minutes after they've been approved can be accomplished by adopting a motion to amend something previously adopted (ASPA). This motion requires a second, is debatable, and can be adopted by a two-thirds vote, a majority vote with previous notice, or the vote of a majority of the (entire) membership.

Please forgive me but I'm new to all this. What is RONR exactly? I have a member of the group saying that there absolutely must be a motion and a 2nd. I told her that was true for BYLAWS perhaps but for an informal group of 12 women, that was not necessary. I need a logical way to rebut this so she will quit complaining.

Thanks in advance for your help.