The Official RONR Q & A Forums

iClicker voting

laurau

Our org recently implemented using iClickers for voting, which means the votes are anonymous. Isn' this a huge violation of RONR?

My knowledge of iClicker is limited, but I wonder what there is that would keep a person who is not actually present at the meeting when the vote is taken from casting a vote using the electronic system? Again, I'm not an expert on this, but I do have real concerns.

My knowledge of iClicker is limited, but I wonder what there is that would keep a person who is not actually present at the meeting when the vote is taken from casting a vote using the electronic system?

See iClicker for details. The range is 200-300 feet. I suppose you could simply prevent the iClicker from leaving the room.

My concern is that there appears to be no way to cast a write-in vote - all the nominees must be identified (and numbered) before any voting gets under way for the system to work.

This is a severe restriction on the RONR authorized style of voting in an election.

Although nothing said so far suggests that this method is being used in an election.

No.

Ballot votes are anonymous and proper.

If the votes are anonymous it sounds very much like a ballot........again, no problems under RONR.

Thanks; I should have been clearer that they are not just being used for elections, where the ballots should be anon. They are being used for all business, including motions, amendments, etc.

Thanks; I should have been clearer that they are not just being used for elections, where the ballots should be anon. They are being used for all business, including motions, amendments, etc.

Has anyone else raised any objection, or expressed any concern about this, or desire to do things the "old fashioned" way?

Then it sounds fine. It's certainly no worse than a voice vote or a show of hands