The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Public Comment

Guest Theresa

I am very new to using Roberts Rules to run a meeting. I work at a elementary school where the members of our council are also new to using Roberts Rules. During a meeting is it only members that are allowed to make comments? If we have public attending, are the allowed to add to the discussion? Are we required to allow them to speak or is it at the discretion of the Chair?

I am very new to using Roberts Rules to run a meeting. I work at a elementary school where the members of our council are also new to using Roberts Rules. During a meeting is it only members that are allowed to make comments? If we have public attending, are the allowed to add to the discussion? Are we required to allow them to speak or is it at the discretion of the Chair?

As far as RONR is concerned, "the public" is just another word (or two) for "non-member" and non-members (of the body that is meeting) have no parliamentary rights.

Non-members may be invited, or excluded, as the assembly (the members present) wishes. Non-members may even be permitted to speak. And the assembly is free to invite some non-members and exclude others. The one thing non-members absolutely, positively can not do is vote.

It's up to the assembly, not the chair alone.

Note that some organizations (such as public school boards?) may be subject to open-meeting (or "sunshine") laws which would supersede RONR.

As a rule, only members of the council may speak in debate (p. 3). The majority may permit a nonmember of the council to make some type of statement or presentation. The rules may be suspended to permit a nonmember to enter into debate (p. 255 fn.).

I am very new to using Roberts Rules to run a meeting. I work at a elementary school where the members of our council are also new to using Roberts Rules. During a meeting is it only members that are allowed to make comments?