The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Really Need Help Fast

matt5919

My name is Matt. I am a volunteer firefighter and my orginazation utilizes a set of by-laws backed up by Roberts Rules. Our company recently had a member "call out" the board of directors on something they acted on where they did not have the authority to do so. "It should have been voted on by the membership as it conflicted with our "by-laws". This incident has opened a can of worms as the membership has now realized that the board of directors has been doing this for some time and nobody noticed that it was out of order per our by-laws. What would the proper procedure be for repremanding the board of directors yet allowing the decisions they have made in the past to still stand as they are too numerous and could cause catastrophy for our company. (example being we have training requirement for our company in which the board has been granting extensions when it is specifically stated in our by-laws that a new member has to get and maintain training in a certain time frame or their membership will be terminated. So many extensions have been granted that if we went back on them we would loose 30 percent of our membership. Is there a way to motion and vote to allow the improper actions to stand and move forward promising to correctly adhere to the by-laws and parlimentary procedure for the present on??

If so? would it be majority or 2/3 and how would I present that motion??

Thank You for any help this is the only message board of this type I could find so I hope someone sees this.....

Our company recently had a member "call out" the board of directors on something they acted on where they did not have the authority to do so.

It should have been voted on by the membership as it conflicted with our "by-laws".