The Official RONR Q & A Forums

quorum

Guest val w.

Our small club is revising our by-laws. At the moment our by-laws state: Twenty -five percent of the members in good standing shall constitute a quorum at any meeting. It has been suggested we add: If a quorum is not attained the meeting shall adjourn and reconvene 15 minutes later. Those then attending the meeting will constitue a quorum. Is this addition in keeping with Roberts Rules of Order? Is it "legal"?

wow. think that over. suppose 2 people show up (maybe there's a storm). You have no quorum. the 2 folks decide it's best to go home. But one lays back and 15 minutes later decides to call a meeting of one to order, and votes himself king-for-a-day entitled to use all your club funds for booze and lottery tickets.

I'm no expert for sure, but I suppose you can have your bylaws say whatever you'd like. But IMHO I think you'd be better served by sticking with what RONR says you may do as an inquorate meeting.

Our small club is revising our by-laws. At the moment our by-laws state: Twenty -five percent of the members in good standing shall constitute a quorum at any meeting. It has been suggested we add: If a quorum is not attained the meeting shall adjourn and reconvene 15 minutes later. Those then attending the meeting will constitue a quorum. Is this addition in keeping with Roberts Rules of Order? Is it "legal"?

The word "adjourn" should probably be "recess". Once you adjourn, people go home, which is the opposite of what you want.

Legal? Well, RONR is not a law book, so it's not against the law to do what you want.

If you pass such a bylaw, it would supersede RONR, so the fact that it's not in keeping with the rules in RONR would not matter.

Therefore, procedurally there is nothing wrong with it except for the fact that it would be an absolutely horrible idea.