The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Correcting a motion

Guest Carol

At our last Board meeting, we passed a motion to specifically spend $X to purchase something. As it turns out, it actually costs $Y, not $X. Do we have to somehow amend the motion to reflect the actual dollar amount of the purchase? I am quite new to all of this, so I appreciate the help.

At your next meeting, move to amend the previous motion by striking $X and adding $Y. The motion to amend something previously adopted requires a 2/3 vote without notice, majority vote with notice, or a majority of the entire membership.

However, if $Y is less than $X, I'd go ahead and buy the item since I feel approval to spend $50 inclused authority to spend $45.

-Bob

At our last Board meeting, we passed a motion to specifically spend $X to purchase something. As it turns out, it actually costs $Y, not $X. Do we have to somehow amend the motion to reflect the actual dollar amount of the purchase? I am quite new to all of this, so I appreciate the help.

Ideally, yes: see AMEND SOMETHING PREVIOUSLY ADOPTED.

But, casually, you could adopt a motion to the effect, e.g.,

"That the treasurer be authorized to add up to $N to cover the purchase of the piano."

Or,

"That the Gardening Committee be allocated an extra $100 for obtaining its fertilizer."

Ideally, yes: see AMEND SOMETHING PREVIOUSLY ADOPTED.

But, casually, you could adopt a motion to the effect, e.g.,

"That the treasurer be authorized to add up to $N to cover the purchase of the piano."

Or,

"That the Gardening Committee be allocated an extra $100 for obtaining its fertilizer."

Would those motions not be out of order in that they conclift with a previosly adopted main motion that is still in effect? [page 244]

If the new motion passes by the needed majority all would be well but if it falls in the range below 2/3, it should be declared that the new motion fails.

-Bob