The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Appointments and a President with an agenda

Guest JackieS.

I am a member of the student senate at my college and our president (who is newly elected) has approved several people to be appointed at our first meeting of the year. In order to be appointed the president just has to add them to the agenda and it has to be approved upon by a simple majority of the senate. However some of the people who are to be appointed I don't agree with and do not feel that they would do an adequate job. I feel as though the president is just appointing them to fill seats and to say that he is better than the previous president because all of the seats are filled. We have an appointments committee and a government administration committee that appointments usually are sent through after the president approves them to be in senate. While this is not required it is typically considered the norm. We haven't even had our first meeting yet and I am really concerned that our new president has not given adequate notice concerning the vacancies. Our statutes do not a state that the president has to wait or that they have to be sent through a committee. They only thing slightly relevant that they say is that the president is encouraged to give adequate notice to the proper college about the vacancy. I feel that our president is trying to appoint people who will help with his agenda and will not help with the best interests of the students. Please give me some advice on what I can do. I have looked into a filibuster, but I really don't understand it or know if we could use that. Our statutes state nothing about that at all. Any help would be appreciated.

Please give me some advice on what I can do.

You have a wide variety of options, but I think these are some of the best: