The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Proper procedure for making appointments

Stacey Utt

I am a new president of a local professional organization.  The bylaws state "the president shall appoint the chairperson of the standing committees".  During our first meeting, it was brought to my attention that several offices are up for election this year, which means we need a nominations committee.  As president, I need to appoint a chairperson of the nominating committee.  What is the proper procedure for making such an appointment?  I sent an email asking for volunteers and received no response, which didn't surprise me because participation has been lacking since going virtual.  Am I supposed to select a member randomly?  I am brand new to Robert's Rules and parliamentary procedure, but since I took on this role I am determined to do it right, which means doing it properly.  When I select someone, should I discuss it with the individual prior to the meeting, or do I state something during the meeting?  What would be a possible sample script for making the appointment during the meeting?  

Thank you all for your guidance.  I have a lot to learn. 

Bylaws often exclude the nominating committee as one that the president appoints or sits on. Check your bylaws to see if this is the case.

"Designation of the nominating committee. The nominating committee should be elected by the organization wherever possible, or else by its executive board. Although in organizing a new society it may be feasible for the chair to appoint the nominating committee, in an organized society the president should not appoint this committee or be a member of it—ex officio or otherwise." RONR (12th ed.) 46:10

48 minutes ago, Stacey Utt said:

When I select someone, should I discuss it with the individual prior to the meeting, or do I state something during the meeting?