The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Quorums and Constitutional Amendments

Guest T. Linzey

This is my first year serving as parliamentarian and my organization is revising our by-laws. I am seeking guidance. These are the current articles on meetings, quorums and amendments that I am looking to clarify/revise. I am specifically looking for clarification on Article V section 3 and Article VI

Article V Meetings and Quorums

Section 1 – The President may call additional meetings of the General Board at such times as
may be deemed appropriate.
Section 2 – At any General Board or special meeting, at least one-half of the voting
members of the General Board shall constitute a quorum.
Section 3 – At a publicized general meeting of the membership a quorum shall be those members present.
1. At any General Board or special meeting to conduct business, five percent (5%) of the
general membership shall constitute a quorum.

Article VI Amendments

This Constitution may be amended at any general meeting of the Membership, or by ballot by a
two-thirds vote, provided:
1. The General Board approved the proposed amendment with majority vote, where quorum is
present.
2. The proposed amendment was submitted in writing to the general membership thirty days prior to voting.

Questions:

1. Does Article V Section 3 need sub point one? Is there an instance where you would have a membership meeting where it is necessary to establish quorum, yet you would not be conducting business?

2. In Article VI section 1: Does a vote to amend the constitution require 2/3 of the 5% membership quorum (from Article V: Sec 3:1) or 2/3 of the general membership (Article VI)? Are the members voting required to be at the meeting where the amendment was discussed to be eligible to vote (by ballot or otherwise)?

3. Are there suggestions on how Article V: Sec 3 and the first part of Article VI should be written for clarity. 

Thank you for your help.

On 2/8/2024 at 11:53 AM, Guest T. Linzey said: