The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Announcements Rather Than Motions?

hoagluk

I'm an officer of a small Toastmasters club, which gathers about 15 people for a typical meeting. We have a short business meeting as part of our weekly program. We don't have much "business" to conduct at these meetings. Most of the meeting consists of members making announcements (e.g. reminding the group about an upcoming event, or asking that members do such and such by a certain date). However the meetings quickly devolve into disorganized messes, as member2 comments on what member1 just announced, which prompts member3 to share a great idea related to what member2 just said, etc. Fifteen minutes later everyone is ready to crawl for the doors.

How should we handle this? The motion+debate+vote paradigm doesn't really seem to fit our situation, but we need something!

How about creating standing rules to allow "announcement speeches" in place of main motions? Instead of a second, debate and vote, these could be followed by discussion that would be limited to two responses per member, with every member being allowed to speak once before a member may speak a second time.

Thanks in advance for your great advice.

Most of the meeting consists of members making announcements (e.g. reminding the group about an upcoming event, or asking that members do such and such by a certain date).

However the meetings quickly devolve into disorganized messes, as member2 comments on what member1 just announced, which prompts member3 to share a great idea related to what member2 just said, etc.

Fifteen minutes later everyone is ready to crawl for the doors.

How should we handle this?

What do you WANT to happen? The real solution is up to you, collectively.

Is the key factor QUANTITY of QUALITY? Is the key factor TIME or ORDERLINESS?

What do you want to KEEP? What do you want to ELIMINATE?

For example:

• Begin this "announcement" phase 15 minutes earlier than normal.