The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Motions and Voting by email

Guest KAP

I serve as president  on a small non-profit board.  Recently, another board member made a motion via email, which led to some intense debate and a decision to vote on the issue at our next regular meeting.   I almost didn't acknowledge the motion, because it seemed improper, but it was made by the immediate past president.   I figured she must know what is  proper.  I did not call for a vote on the motion, yet 3 people voted in favor of it, via the email conversation.

I searched the issue of voting via email, and saw comments that RONR prohibits email voting unless an organization has it included in the by-laws.    I have very little knowledge of these formalities, and just purchased RONR In Brief.  I cannot find specific guidelines regarding email; it just references the full length RONR pages, which I do not have.  I would truly appreciate some clarity.  Can motions be made, outside of regular meetings via email?  Can voting be done via email?  

2 minutes ago, Guest KAP said:

I searched the issue of voting via email, and saw comments that RONR prohibits email voting unless an organization has it included in the by-laws. 

I cannot find specific guidelines regarding email; it just references the full length RONR pages, which I do not have.  I would truly appreciate some clarity.  Can motions be made, outside of regular meetings via email?  Can voting be done via email?  

The comments you saw are correct.  According to RONR. email voting is prohibited unless authorized in your bylaws or by an applicable statute. RONR also assumes that organization business, which is done by means of motions, debate, and voting, all occurs in a meeting at which members are physically present, again unless the bylaws specifically provide otherwise.