The Official RONR Q & A Forums

When presiding officer ignores misconduct

TheAdvocate

Last year, at what can be best described as a mass meeting, our presiding officer appointed me as parliamentarian. I am a newbie at RR, but I still know 20x more than most people there, and 10x more than the presiding officer.

Anyway, our standing rules say one can speak for one minute only, which is fine for our purposes. When it was my turn to speak, I was tongue-tied for the first 5 seconds, and someone yelled out "Time!" and many in the assembly laughed. I was indignant and demanded that the time keeper restart the clock. He refused. I kept insisting. He wouldn't. I looked to the presiding officer, but he did nothing. I let it go, it didn't seem worth it to me.

Of course, I made the mistake of addressing our timekeeper directly, but I should have done it through the chair. (I was upset) But what would be the best procedure to use when someone is disrespecting my speech while I'm being timed? Do I call a point of order? If I do, should the clock be stopped in the middle of my speech?

Last year, at what can be best described as a mass meeting, our presiding officer appointed me as parliamentarian. I am a newbie at RR, but I still know 20x more than most people there, and 10x more than the presiding officer.

Anyway, our standing rules say one can speak for one minute only, which is fine for our purposes. When it was my turn to speak, I was tongue-tied for the first 5 seconds, and someone yelled out "Time!" and many in the assembly laughed. I was indignant and demanded that the time keeper restart the clock. He refused. I kept insisting. He wouldn't. I looked to the presiding officer, but he did nothing. I let it go, it didn't seem worth it to me.