The Official RONR Q & A Forums

regarding ex-officio status

Guest The Pastor

I am under the impression that because I am a pastor of my church that I am considered an ex-officio member of all committee's in my church. Firstly, is this true according to parliamentary law, and secondly, does the chairman of any particular committee have the authority or right to exclude me from the proceeding or the right or authority to simply not inform me when the committee meeting will take place?

thank you for your response.

the pastor

According to RONR, you would only be an ex officio member of all committees if your church bylaws contained a statement to that effect. RONR itself has no rule that makes anyone an ex officio member of anything. So, if your bylaws don't have such a provision then the chairman of any committee does have the right to exclude you from the committee proceedings and the right to not inform you of when the committee's meetings take place. Note, however, that you could be placed on any or all committees as a regular member by other means, such as by a vote of whichever body is authorized to populate committees.

If you think that as senior pastor, you should be an ex officio member of all committees, then you would need to propose a bylaw amendment to that effect.

Thank you for such a quick response. Let's say for the sake of response that The bylaws of my church do state that I am ex-officio to all committees, would it be legal or appropriate for any committee to call a meeting when I could not attend. say while on vacation?

the pastor

Let's say for the sake of response that The bylaws of my church do state that I am ex-officio to all committees

Well, do they or don't they? If they do, you are. If they don't, you aren't. There's no being "under the impression". So, which is it?

would it be legal or appropriate for any committee to call a meeting when I could not attend. say while on vacation?