The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Expelling a member

Guest John

I am a member of a youth football organization. Our organization is actually a Parent Organization, which is governed by a Board of Directors and a set of poorly written by-laws. However, as part of the by-laws, it states that anything not included within will defer to Robert's Rules of Order. I am a football coach that is extremely popular with my players and their parents. I am disliked amongst many Board members because I hold them accountable for the many issues within our organization. The problems start with no tax returns filed in 10 years, the loss of Tax-exempt status (yet continue to use a "fraudulant tax exempt cert" when purchasing from local vendors.

The Board says that they voted me out of the organization last fall. I was not notified of such action and there are no notes within the monthly minutes. They recently enacted a "new By-law" which states that any member who has been expelled in the past is now expelled for life!

My question: are such actions allowable under Robert's Rules?

Thank you very much!

John

Our organization is actually a Parent Organization, which is governed by a Board of Directors and a set of poorly written by-laws.

To follow up on Mr. Harrison's reply, let's say there are 12 board members and 120 members in the organization. If it came down to a vote, who would win? Check those bylaws (carefully) and then get the numbers on your side.

Within the By-laws, the Board is NOT granted the right to expel members. Further, when the proposed By-law change was written, it was NOT given to the entire membership, as REQUIRED by our By-laws. If was only passed amongst the "voting membership and Executive Board".

Do these facts negate the ruling of the Board and further negate the "legality" of the By-law change?

Thanks very much! I really appreciate any, all input.

Do these facts negate the ruling of the Board and further negate the "legality" of the By-law change?