The Official RONR Q & A Forums

assembly's authority vs. the board

bobby101

If the society is organized as a corporation under the laws of the state (or nation) in which it exists, each board member is most like also a director of the corporation.  Directors have a fiduciary duty to the law, while members don't.  In this situation, this question about board vs. members' supremacy moves into an area of law.  Under most state's laws, directors have to follow a "duty of care" and a "duty of faith." 

Therefore, if at a membership meeting of an incorporated society, the members pass a motion that later, members of the board find not to be in the best interests of the corporation (society), it seems to me (I'm not a lawyer) that if the board passes a motion contrary to the motion of the members, then it would supercede the members' motion.

If there is no provision in an organization's by-laws on the issue of a board's supremacy in the organization, does the assembly (the membership) have that final authority over the board and its actions?

The membership has final authority unless the organization's bylaws or applicable law provide otherwise, and if I recall correctly, your organization's bylaws do provide otherwise in certain circumstances (such as amending the bylaws).

If the society is organized as a corporation under the laws of the state (or nation) in which it exists, each board member is most like also a director of the corporation.  Directors have a fiduciary duty to the law, while members don't.  In this situation, this question about board vs. members' supremacy moves into an area of law.  Under most state's laws, directors have to follow a "duty of care" and a "duty of faith."