The Official RONR Q & A Forums

ByLaw Question Concerning 'Rogue' Board

lanesharon

Or..... maybe NOT a rogue board.  :)

I am brand new to the concept of RONR, although I am not new to HOA board policy.  I am building a home in a Texas subdivision that has some possible conflicts in ByLaw wording.  Our bylaws are posted here:

http://hlecc.org/index.php?p=1_9_By-Laws

Amendment wording is at the bottom.  We have a husband/wife team that have controlled the Board since they moved into the subdivision.  The election of officers includes this wording:

Election of a committee:

Members of the Committee will gather names to present to the Board for open positions on the Governing Committee.  The candidates will be qualified by the Governing committee.  To be qualified, a candidate must be:  paid up on all maintenance fees and other fees billable by HLE; not have any deed restriction violations and be a member in good standing.

Yet, also in the Bylaws, there is this wording:

Officers shall serve for one (1) year terms.  An officer may succeed himself, but cannot serve more than three (3) consecutive terms.

QUESTIONS:

From what I have been reading in RONR, illegal ballots should not be counted. But, are the votes for the '3+ year' board members illegal?

Is that 3 consecutive years on the Board, OR 3 consecutive years in the same exact Board position?  Does the 'To be qualified' statement over-ride that?

(NOTE: This board does not allow for an 'overseer' other than existing board members when counting the ballots. And, they modified the Bylaws in 2009 to allow for postcard ballots which would preclude state law from allowing for an overseer (identity would be known).

Or..... maybe NOT a rogue board.  :)

I am brand new to the concept of RONR, although I am not new to HOA board policy.  I am building a home in a Texas subdivision that has some possible conflicts in ByLaw wording.  Our bylaws are posted here:

http://hlecc.org/index.php?p=1_9_By-Laws