The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Amending proposed bylaws "amendment" from the floor

Guest RROnoob

Hoping for some help for a real newbie here.  Please be kind, I've tried googling the answer, but I need something concrete.

My organization followed proper notice for amending bylaws.  When about to put the proposed bylaws to a vote, a member wanted to "amend the amendment" as he is putting it, by tacking on another amendment.  He states that he can do this because he's not amending the bylaws, and therefore doesn't have to follow the 10 day notice rule.  He's amending the organizations bylaws amendment, allowing him to do it from the floor.  His reason for doing this is plainly to avoid a supermajority vote on the piece that he's amending.

Is this allowed?  My layman's interpretation is this a) he's wrong, bylaws are a special amendment type, and he must follow that procedure of notice.  And if he's not wrong then b) his amendment isn't germane to the amendments at hand.  Or maybe I'm wrong and this is allowed?

I've seen discussion from dummies books online, but I can't find citations to back me up.  I could really use some help from a kind, more knowledgeable soul than I.  

Well, you are mostly right, but possibly wrong  --  it depends on the content of the second amendment.

If that second amendment was to some other portion of the bylaws, different from what the properly noticed (first) amendment dealt with, then that second amendment was clearly out of order (for more than one reason).

However, since it is proper to amend an amendment (even without notice of that second change) as long as the content of the second amendment deals directly with the content of the first one, your friend may have been within his rights.

RONR, page 594ff, covers this.

Guest Guest RROnoob