The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Where do I start???

BenG

Hey everyone, I am part of a religious organization's Board of Directors (13 total) and we are running into some issues of power and authority of the President, directors, and a committee Chair. I am very new to this, have read a complete guide to Roberts Rules of Order by Richard Mills and have done some research but somethings I still need help with.

First of all, simple question (and sorry if it should be obvious to me.), to be bound by Robert's Rules of Order, do we need to have this listed in our bylaws? Or do we need to list the specific Rules of Order in our bylaws that we follow?

The basic issue is one of the committee Chairs is trying to dictate requirements to other committee's and members without going back to the other committee members (5 total including the Chair), and getting the President involved. Our self elected Parliamentarian is saying the committee Chairs and President basically have dictatorial authority and their word is law. For example the Chairperson in question is saying they can just submit a report to the President for our annual meeting without getting review and approval of the other committee members. Is my interpretation correct of Article IX, section 52 "The committee's report can contain only that which has been agreed to by a majority vote at a meeting..." in that it has to be presented at a meeting and voted on?

These are the basic high points as these might answer some other questions I have. Help is appreciated. Thanks.

21 minutes ago, BenG said:

I am very new to this, have read a complete guide to Roberts Rules of Order by Richard Mills and have done some research but somethings I still need help with.

You might find it helpful to purchase the actual book, in the 11th edition, or wait for the 12th.

21 minutes ago, BenG said: