The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Can a motion carry if the rules of order are not followed ?

twolifter

Forgive me I am pretty new to the Roberts Rules of Order. I did find what appears to be the answer to part of my question in the FAQ's but that answer has given me a second question.

At our last meeting I was given the floor and to silence me from speaking further on the topic, a motion to vote was purposed and seconded by two other individuals who had not been given the floor. (while i still had the floor)

Because I was the first to question the topic and I was not allowed to finish the vote was carried. (because our club is hardly awake during the business meetings and other than the board of directors nobody really knows what is going on. This is the reason I left the club 3 years ago, and it manifested itself again the first meeting after I paid my dues to re-join under what is mostly "new club officers".

Should I, or could I have done something to stop the vote ? And does the vote count ? Because the issue was about spending money, if the vote does NOT count, what happens if the money is already spent by the time I try to correct the issue. And is there a time limit on how long I have to address the issue ?

below is what I BELIEVE covers my question, i may be wrong in that assumption. Below that I will include what our constitution/by-laws say about the rules of order.

---------------------------------------------

Question 11:

Must debate on a motion stop immediately as soon as any member calls the question?

Answer: